Close Menu

Beta Gamma Sigma Inductees Honored at Ceremony

Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year

The Stuart School of Business chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma honored 35 students and Professor of Economics Khairy A. Tourk as inductees at a ceremony and reception on Friday, May 10 at MTCC Auditorium.

Bluford Putnam, Managing Director and Chief Economist, CME Group, was recognized as Chapter Honoree and Associate Professor of Operations Management Elizabeth J. Durango-Cohen was honored as Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year.

Stuart Dean John Bilson presided over the ceremony and presented the honors for Tourk, Putnam, and Durango-Cohen. Clinical Professor of Accounting and Finance John Twombly, president of the Stuart Beta Gamma Sigma chapter, and Associate Professor of Finance Ben Van Vliet, the chapter’s secretary and treasurer, conducted the induction ritual for the students.

As the national honor society serving business programs accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AASCB), Beta Gamma Sigma represents the highest academic recognition for business students at the member institutions.

The students newly inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma are:

Farhan Ahmed
Savannah Brown
Xuxu Chen
Denghui Cheng
Hang Deng
Devika Dhir
Maria Claudia Escobar Jaruffe
Christopher John Hoffmann
Alexander Kleiner
Chia-Chun Lee
Shengsi Li
Haoran Ling
Chen Liu
Yiqing Liu
Yue Lyu
Audrey L. Mathews
Jake Menard
Kristen Mickel

Michelle Mikka-Van Der Stuyf
Ryan Patrick O’Keefe
Miaomiao Pan
Jaykumar Babubhai Patel
Christopher Reed
Sandra J. Rolnicki
Rittika Roy
Ajinkya Govind Shrikhande
Abhishek Singh
Yaroslav Vergun
Yuang Wei
Trevor Wheeler
Yaxun Yang
Yijun Zhao
Tianyu Zhao
Xinting Zhen
Lei Zhou

To download the program for the 2019 Beta Gamma Sigma Induction Ceremony, click here.

Photo: Elizabeth Durango-Cohen receives the Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year Award from John Bilson and John Twombley.