Close Menu

IIT Stuart Inducts 41 New Members to Beta Gamma Sigma

Chicago, May 17, 2013 — IIT Stuart School of Business congratulates the 41 new members of the IIT Stuart chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma. On Friday, May 17, IIT Stuart Dean Dr. Harvey Kahalas, Chapter President Dr. John Twombly, and Secretary/Treasurer Dr. Ben Van Vliet inducted two faculty members, one honorary inductee, five undergraduate students and 33 graduate students to the chapter.

Faculty inductees:

Siva K. Balasubramanian, Harold L. Stuart Professor of Marketing, Associate Dean, and Director of PhD Program

M. Krishna Erramilli, Professor of Marketing and Director of IIT Stuart graduate business programs


Honorary inductee:

Rosemarie Mitchell, Chair, IIT Stuart Board of Overseers; Member, IIT Board of Trustees; and CEO of ABS Associates


Student inductees:

Menaka Alai
Sandra Arguello
Brock Auerbach-Lynn
Beth Baxter
Wenjia Chen
Fay Costa
Yu Deng
Junchen Dong
Abiola Elugbaju
May Monica Ferrer
Elizabeth Futch
Aozixuan Guan
Xin Hu
Yang Hu
Yicong Huang
Kefei Jiang
Iva Jurkovic
Rishi Kanabar
Yeye Lai
Tran Le
Dong Li
Hanwen Liu
Xi Liu
Xizhe Lu
Massiel Luca
Bridgid Lutz
Fan Pan
Yuan Ren
Mustafa Sezgin
Yongheng Wang
Wei Wei
Ce Xu
Guoshu Xu
Xiaofei Yang
Xu Yang
Yue Yang
Daozhou Yao
Yongjun Zhang


bgscentenialseal_110pxStudents ranking in the top 10 percent of the baccalaureate and top 20 percent of graduate programs at schools accredited by The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) International are eligible for this invitation, which represents the highest academic recognition a business student can receive. Professionals who have earned the distinction of “the Best in Business” during their careers may also be invited to join.

Honorary inductee Rosemarie Mitchell spoke to the newest members of Beta Gamma Sigma, discussing her life, career success and her experiences with IIT Stuart. “I have watched the school grow from 400 students, to today’s number of over 1,000,” she noted. “I have witnessed Stuart pass — with flying colors — a grueling accreditation process, which means you have attended one of the best business schools in the world.”

Mitchell inspired the inductees with her own success story, and left them with a challenge: “Be careful what you say ‘no’ to, because you never know where ‘yes’ could lead you,” she said.

The IIT Stuart chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma was founded in 2000, and was named an exemplary chapter in 2008, 2009 and 2010. This year’s 41 new inductees join a total of 414 lifetime members of the IIT Stuart chapter and more than 625,000 Beta Gamma Sigma members worldwide.

To learn more about IIT Stuart, please visit To learn more about Beta Gamma Sigma, please visit